Club News

Previous Next

2017 League Premiers

In a dominant display the Bunbury Football Club league team broke a 16 year drought to become the senior clubs third premiership side for 2017!

With a side heavily consisting of local talent bought through from their junior club the BFC League team registered a great victory running out winner by 50 points.

Great early work in the first quarter saw Bunbury lead 4.5 to 0.0 at the first change. Youngsters in Connor Walker, Aiden Clarke, Jordan Falco, Braiden McMullen, Blair DellaFranca, Parto brothers and Harry Creasey all stood up determined to make sure these dogs had their day!

In a battle of defenses Travis Justins, Kane Bumman and the veteran Codey Hay continued to repel HBL's efforts while the Bunbury midfield kept running as the teams went to the long break with Bunbury leading 5.6 to 2.4.

As the third quarter became a test of wills Bunbury kept pushing and running throughout. Coach Jamie Nani had his match ups working well with key HBL runners being well held by their respective opponents. Combined with goals to Matt Martin and Aiden Clarke the dogs could smell victory as they led 7.6 to 2.5 at the last change.

With all the momentum going their way the Bulldogs pressed onward to put on a further 4 goals for the last quarter to become the premiers for 2017.

Best on ground was awarded to 18 year old Aiden Clarke who was the youngest Pike Medallist in a grand final since Carey Park Champion Troy Ugle in the 1980s.

14 members of the Premiership team played juniors for the Bunbury Football Club with 16 having played colts reflecting a premiership traced back to a great working relationship between the junior and senior club.